Is God in the Heart-Breaking Business?

broken heart

 

“The broken heart is the special lot of all sensitive people. No such person lives long in this world before he has his heart broken. And, as life goes on, the broken heart becomes sundered into smaller and ever smaller pieces … This is especially the case, of course, of those who deliberately seek union with him whose heart the world insists upon breaking one more time, even after he dies … However, these people also come to know without any question that the important thing is to let the world break the Human Heart. For one thing, the heart that breaks open can contain the whole universe… There is also room in the broken heart, and only there, for all the sorrows of the world. The broken heart, and only it, is curative, redemptive of the wasteland around. Moreover, the broken heart is the raw material necessary for a strange and important alchemy which has been described in the sacred words: YOUR SORROWS SHALL BE TURNED INTO JOY … So let your heart break without ever abandoning Life.

I was given this quote last week and it immediately resonated in my heart. So I thought I would share it and process through it here on my blog.

No such person lives long in this world before he has his heart broken.

I remember the first time I had my heart broken. I was four years old. While I don’t remember the scenario, I remember the feeling and was later told the story. I’m a Pastor’s Kid…which brings with it a whole slew of its own emotional heartbreaks. However, this story was relegated to this one specific instance. It was after church on a Sunday and I wanted to go see my daddy. Being four I was being watched by some poor soul in Children’s ministry who had to run around after me. As I was running towards my dad who was ministering to some people and the person watching me told me: “You can’t go see your daddy right now because he’s ministering.” Now, while this statement was completely true and I know (at least I’m choosing to believe the heart of the person was right), the message that was received was that “ministry is more important than you to your dad.” This message stayed with me until high school when I had to sit my dad down and tell him that he was more like my pastor than my dad…healing came quickly after that conversation.

This is especially the case, of course, of those who deliberately seek union with him

I was talking with a friend who just became a Christian in recent years. She is going through some growing pains in her relationships with friends she had in her “Before Christ” days. The Bible says in 2 Corinthians 2:15 “Our lives are a Christ-like fragrance rising up to God. But this fragrance is perceived differently by those who are being saved and by those who are perishing.” As people deliberately seek union with Christ, the divide between them and relationships of the world will be felt more and more, clearly delineating the choice to follow Christ or not.

…the broken heart is the raw material necessary for a strange and important alchemy which has been described in the sacred words: YOUR SORROWS SHALL BE TURNED INTO JOY

It is through the breaking of our heart that God can bring his healing and his understanding into our lives.  Psalm 147:3 says “He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds.”

So let your heart break without ever abandoning Life.

This is one of the most painful and difficult lessons to learn in life. It is so easy, once “bad things” happen and our heart breaks to quiet away and lose our zeal and love for life. But that is not what God asks us to do! The Bible says in Hebrews 12:2 “Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.”

Even though Jesus knew the difficulty and the heart break that would come to him through the cross, he knew the joy was worth the pain and endured the pain so that the joy could come…not only for him but for us as well!

2 responses to “Is God in the Heart-Breaking Business?

  1. Pingback: Unbelief | Quality of Life Ministries·

  2. Pingback: Having Your Heart In It | Single White Christian·

Leave a Reply

