Spring Forward: More Than Once a Year

Spring Forward

Last year I started doing something in place of new year’s “resolutions.” I came across this initiative called OneWord365 via a friend on Facebook. The idea is to pick a word that you want to become during the next year. It could be a character trait, something you want to happen in your life, whatever you want it to be really.  Last year, I chose the word “Goodness.”

It truly was a good year!

This year as I was thinking and praying about what word will describe 2014, I felt that word needed to be “Spring.”

As I did last year, I started with the definition of spring and some scriptures to meditate on throughout the year. Here’s what I discovered…

Spring:

  1. To rise, leap, move or act suddenly and swiftly; as by a sudden dart or thrust forward or outward or being suddenly released from a coiled or constrained position.
  2. To issue forth suddenly.
  3. To come into being, rise or arise within a short time.
  4. To come into being by growth

Scriptures for this year:

  1. Romans 4:20-21 – “Yet he did not waver through unbelief regarding the promise of God, but was strengthened in his faith and gave glory to God, being fully persuaded that God had power to do what he had promised.”
  2. Luke 1:45 – “Blessed is she who has believed that what the Lord has said to her will be accomplished.”
  3. Psalm 103:2-5 – “Praise the Lord, O my Soul, and forget not his benefits – who forgives all your sins and heals all your diseases, who redeems your life from the pit and crowns you with love and compassion, who satisfies your desire with good things so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.”
  4. Isaiah 43:19 – “See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland.”

I am so excited for this year! I have no idea what God is going to do but I am expectant that it is going to be good! It is refreshing to know that God cares, that he has placed seasons in our life to develop what we need for where we are and to prepare us for where we are going…and we get to do it all together: with God and with each other!

It’s time to Spring Forward!

Spring Forward 2

Leave a Reply

